Skip to content ↓

Safeguarding

Northampton School for Girls is committed to providing a place where all girls belong and where every student is nurtured and empowered to grow, succeed and lead.

We believe that student's welfare and safety is of paramount importance. We use our ethos of 3 Respects: Respect for self; Respect for others; Respect for learning to embed and promote our students’ welfare, safety, health and happiness.

We know that it is of the upmost importance to have good systems for protecting and safeguarding the welfare of all our students. This means that anyone who works with our students must be alert to possible concerns and report these appropriately and in a timely manner.

In order to protect our students, it is our aim to:

  • Create an atmosphere where all of our students feel safe, secure, valued and listened to
  • Recognise the signs and symptoms of abuse
  • Respond quickly and effectively to cases of suspected abuse

We will support all students by:

  • Encouraging self-esteem and self-assertiveness whilst not condoning aggression or bullying
  • Promoting a caring, safe and positive environment

All staff should be aware that:

  • Their role is to listen and record carefully any observations, which could indicate concern/abuse
  • They should not attempt to investigate, once the initial concern is raised
  • They should involve a member of the Designated Safeguarding team. If non one from this team is available the Head Teacher should be contacted
  • A disclosure of abuse or harm could be made at anytime
  • Prior to external agencies being invited in to Northampton School for Girls to work with our students or to carry out work on the premises, all relevant DBS checks and identification has been seen/verified.

Reporting Process:

If a staff member has a concern, that a child is being harmed or is at risk of harm or receive a disclosure (intentionally or unintentionally), they must contact one the following:

Designated Safeguarding Leads

Designated safeguarding lead (DSL) Abigail Boddy (aboddy@nsg.northants.sch.uk)

Deputy DSLs

Cath Carré (ccarre@nsg.northants.sch.uk)

Carol Pichler (cpichler@nsg.northants.sch.uk)

Sarah Timms (stimms@nsg.northants.sch.uk)

Karen Loughney Post 16 (kloughney@nsg.northants.sch.uk)

 

Out of hours service - dsl.safeguarding@nsg.northants.sch.uk

 

Julia Smallman is the DSL with responsibility for Looked After and Previously Looked After Children. (jsmallman@nsg.northants.sch.uk)

 

Headteacher Cristina Taboada-Naya (c.taboada-naya@nsg.northants.sch.uk)

 

Nominated Safeguarding Governors

Andrew Vincent (avincent@nsg.northants.sch.uk)

Kelly Rock (krock@nsg.northants.sch.uk)

Key Stage 3 Student Care Team

Year 7 George Simmons
gsimmons@nsg.northants.sch.uk

Year 7 Pastrol Officer
jfilby@nsg.northants.sch.uk

Year 8 Rachael Blakey
rblakey@nsg.northants.sch.uk

Year 8 Nicola Morris
nmorris@nsg.northants.sch.uk

Year 9 Vicki Heaver
vheaver@nsg.northants.sch.uk

Year 9 Emma Oldham
eoldham@nsg.northants.sch.uk

 

Key Stage 4 Student Care Team

Year 10 Ita Coverdale
icoverdale@nsg.northants.sch.uk

Year 10 Andy Kowal
akowal@nsg.northants.sch.uk

Year 11 Rachael Lissaman
rlissaman@nsg.northants.sch.uk

Key Stage 5 Student Care Team

Year 13 Dan Wynn
dwynn@nsg.northants.sch.uk

Year 12 Karen Loughney
kloughney@nsg.northants.sch.uk

Key Stage 5 Claire Green
cgreen@nsg.northants.sch.uk

Other Safeguarding Agencies

The Multi-Agency Safeguarding Hub (MASH)
The MASH can advise on whether a family needs early help or whether they meet the threshold for statutory child protection. Telephone: 0300 126 1000

Out of hours service
Should you need to contact children's Social Care urgently during the evening, at night or at the weekend, phone the out of hours team on 01604 626938. An operator will answer the phone and take details of the concern and your contact details. They will then pass this information over to the duty social worker.

Designated Officer (Local Authority)

Andy Smith (01604 367862)

Christine York (01604 362633)

LADOReferral@northamptonshire.gov.uk

USEFUL LINKS

Parent online safety information and support package
https://www.thinkuknow.co.uk/parents/Support-tools/home-activity-worksheets/

Keeping Children Safe in Education
https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/keeping-children-safe-in-education--2

Working together to Safeguard Children
https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/working-together-to-safeguard-children--2

Northamptonshire LSCBN
http://www.northamptonshirescb.org.uk/