Skip to content ↓

Safeguarding

 

 

Northampton School for Girls is committed to providing a place where all girls belong and where every student is nurtured and empowered to grow, succeed and lead.

We believe that student's welfare and safety is of paramount importance. We use our ethos of 3 Respects: Respect for self; Respect for others; Respect for learning to embed and promote our students’ welfare, safety, health and happiness.

We know that it is of the upmost importance to have good systems for protecting and safeguarding the welfare of all our students. This means that anyone who works with our students must be alert to possible concerns and report these appropriately and in a timely manner.

In order to protect our students, it is our aim to:

  • Create an atmosphere where all of our students feel safe, secure, valued and listened to
  • Recognise the signs and symptoms of harm
  • Respond quickly and effectively to cases of suspected harm

We will support all students by:

  • Encouraging self-esteem and self-assertiveness whilst not condoning aggression or bullying
  • Promoting a caring, safe and positive environment

All staff should be aware that:

  • Their role is to listen and record carefully any observations, which could indicate concern/abuse
  • They should not attempt to investigate, once the initial concern is raised
  • They should involve a member of the Designated Safeguarding team. If non one from this team is available the Head Teacher should be contacted
  • A disclosure of abuse or harm could be made at anytime
  • Prior to external agencies being invited in to Northampton School for Girls to work with our students or to carry out work on the premises, all relevant DBS checks and identification has been seen/verified.

Reporting Process:

If a staff member has a concern, that a child is being harmed or is at risk of harm or receive a disclosure (intentionally or unintentionally), they must contact one the following:

Designated Safeguarding Leads

Designated safeguarding lead (DSL)

Abigail Boddy (aboddy@nsg.northants.sch.uk)

DSL Team

Cath Carré (ccarre@nsg.northants.sch.uk)

George Simmons - (gsimmons@nsg.northants.sch.uk)

Claire Green -  Post 16 (cgreen@nsg.northants.sch.uk)

SEND - (send@nsg.northants.sch.uk)

 

dsl.safeguarding@nsg.northants.sch.uk

 

DSL with responsibility for Looked After and Previously Looked After Children.

Julia Smallman  (jsmallman@nsg.northants.sch.uk)

 

Headteacher Cristina Taboada-Naya (c.taboada-naya@nsg.northants.sch.uk)

 

Nominated Safeguarding Governors

Kelly Rock (krock@nsg.northants.sch.uk)

Key Stage 3 Student Care Team

Assistant Headteacher 
George Simmons
gsimmons@nsg.northants.sch.uk

Head of Academic Standards Yr7
Vanessa McGonigle
vmcgonigle@nsg.northants.sch.uk‚Äč


Yr7 Pastoral Support Officer
Olivia Beech
obeech@nsg.northants.sch.uk


Head of Academic Standards Yr 8
Rachael Blakey
rblackey@nsg.northants.sch.uk

Yr 8 Pastoral Support Officer
Elena Istrati
eistrati@nsg.northants.sch.uk


Head of Academic Standards Yr 9
Elizabeth Smith
esmith@nsg.northants.sch.uk

Yr 9 Pastoral Support Officer
Jane Filby
jfilby@nsg.northants.sch.uk

Key Stage 4 Student Care Team


Assistant Headteacher
Abby Bell
abell@nsg.northants.sch.uk


Head of Academic Standards Yr 10
Vicki Heaver
vheaver@nsg.northants.sch.uk

Yr 10 Pastoral Support Officer
Jane Davies
jdavies@nsg.northants.sch.uk

Acting Academic Standards Leader Yr 11
Julia Smallman
jsmallman@nsg.northants.sch.uk

Yr11 Pastoral Support Officer
Emma Hartley
ehartley@nsg.northants.sch.uk

Key Stage 5 Student Care Team

Year 13
Dan Wynn
dwynn@nsg.northants.sch.uk


Year 12

Hayley Bignell
hbignell@nsg.northants.sch.uk

Key Stage 5
Claire Green
cgreen@nsg.northants.sch.uk

Other Safeguarding Agencies

The Multi-Agency Safeguarding Hub (MASH)
The MASH can advise on whether a family needs early help or whether they meet the threshold for statutory child protection. Telephone: 0300 126 1000

Out of hours service
Should you need to contact children's Social Care urgently during the evening, at night or at the weekend, phone the out of hours team on 01604 626938. An operator will answer the phone and take details of the concern and your contact details. They will then pass this information over to the duty social worker.

Designated Officer (Local Authority)

LADOReferral@northamptonshire.gov.uk

USEFUL LINKS

Parent online safety information and support package

Keeping Children Safe in Education

Working together to Safeguard Children

Northamptonshire LSCBN